Using DropBox as a portfolio of evidence

I am currently working on my ITQ in accessible practice (so that I will be able to teach it). Although the qualification is not an NVQ, it does require the collection of evidence in a portfolio. Originally I was planning to use this blog, but I was concerned that some of my regular followers may not be interested in my evidence. My next thought was to set up another wordpress.com blog, which would be very easy to do, but one problem with this, is that I cannot attach an Excel spreadsheet directly to a wordpress.com blog, which would be a limiting factor as I am doing the Spreadsheets unit in the qualification.

So instead I have used DropBox, which is working very well indeed. The way that DropBox works, is you create an account on it, and you can download a little application onto your computer. This then allows me to save files to this area (which works as a folder structure, just like any other folder system on a computer). What DropBox does, is it keeps a version of the file on my computer, but also synchronises to a version on the web (in the cloud), so that I can retrieve these files from any other computer that has web access, and if someone else is another dropbox user, then I can give them access to specific items or folders, which is great, as I have given the assessor access to my evidence folder on my dropbox account. We have a single spreadsheet which as I produce evidence, I add an item to it, telling the assessor where the evidence is stored, and which criteria I think it covers. My assessor can then edit this document herself providing feedback.

So although a crude mechanism, that isn’t sophisticated, that doesn’t lend itself to natural reflective practice, in this situation it has worked very well.

Screenshot of web view of Dropbox

Screenshot of web view of Dropbox

And another nice feature is there is a free iPhone app for dropbox allowing me to view my files from my iPhone.

3 Responses

  1. This is very interesting, Dave. Would you also be able to use Reflect for this?

    • I could have used Reflect for my evidence, but the problem with this, is if my membership of IfL ever ended, then I would lose my access to my portfolio, which isn’t an option for me.

      What I could do though, is use dropbox for my IfL evidence, as it is possible from there to make files public access, which would generate a web address for the file – which could then be dropped into Reflect.

  2. Hi Dave

    I’m studying for the same course – hello! Interesting to see how you’re using dropbox. I’ve gone for the blog approach, as I’ve set one up for the first time and unlike yourself do not have too many followers… yet ;)

    Good luck with the course.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,163 other followers

