How to ‘Chop’ a YouTube video and embed it into PowerPoint


Addition to this post made on 20/11/12 – if you are wanting to embed a cropped YouTube video into Moodle then visit http://davefoord.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/cropping-a-youtube-video-before-adding-to-moodle/


YouTube is a wonderful source of videos that can be used very effectively within education, but quite often we only want to show a certain part of the video rather than the whole thing. There is now a free and very easy to use method for doing this called TubeChop, and the output from this can be embedded easily into PowerPoint. One of the great things with TubeChop is you don’t even have to create an account on it, so no passwords to remember (or forget!)

Here is a screencast showing how easy this is to use.

Here is an example of a Example Of TubeChop In PowerPoint.

Although not shown in the screencast, TubeChop will also give you some embed code, so you can embed the chopped video into a blog, VLE or webpage. This is particularly useful to Blackboard users, as if you try to embed a YouTube video directly into Blackboard, you can run into difficulties as Blackboard cannot handle iframes (unless you remember to change the settings in Youtube to give the old embed code).

TubeChop (at the moment) doesn’t use iframes, so works well with Blackboard.

67 Responses

  1. Have you also heard of EmbedPlus http://embedplus.com

    Does much more than just chopping. I use it for training with videos because of that.

  2. Hey Dave, Have you tried embedding TubeChop into PowerPoint 2010 yet? I don’t think the embed code works.

    • Hi Lyndsey. Yes I have embedded a tubechop video into PowerPoint 2010 and it worked for me. I just used the ‘embed a YouTube video’ option and pasted the embed code into the box, so much easier than the instructions I created for this blogpost.

      • There is no embed a YouTube video’ option in powerpoint 2010 there is insert video from web site option. I can play a video directly from youtube ok. When use code from Tubechop, makes black screen that doesn’t play-
        http://swf.tubechop.com/tubechop.swf?vurl=LjMJ6bGXm38&start=4.08&end=45.32&cid=353439

      • You need to follow the instructions within the video clip – you cannot use the insert video from website option as this won’t work for TubeChop, what you need to do is use the developer tab and add a ‘shockwave flash object’ – the details are all in the video clip, which although produced within PowerPoint 2007 works exactly the same for 2010.

        Hope this helps

      • I have watched the video I was still unable to do what was instructed. I have inserted a shape, followed the step to where I had the x in the middle went to view current slide after that I do not know what happen next. please help me

      • What version of PowerPoint are you using? This technique doesn’t work on a mac

  3. Hi David!

    Very useful video-however I’m still having abit of trouble! I have managed to embed the video, but it does not play. Any suggestions?

    • Hi. There are various things that could stop the video playing.

      If YouTube is blocked at your location, then this won’t play.
      This may not work in older versions of PowerPoint, and won’t work if accessed through a Mac version of PowerPoint or Open Office.
      Have you checked that the embed code is exactly correct. If there is a single character that is wrong (e.g. a space or a full stop or similar) in there somewhere it won’t work.

      Apart from that I don’t know.

      If you reply to this post with the embed code that you are trying I may be able to see what is wrong.

      Thanks.

  4. I. Love. You.
    I have been looking all over the WOLRD trying to find how to get my stuff from word chop to my powerpoint! THANK YOU!

  5. what about posting it into a google drive presentation?

    • I haven’t tried this, but it should be possible to just edit the basic embed code from YouTube.

      In the YouTube embed code there will be some text that says “rel=0″ what you do is replace this with “start=xxx,end=yyy” where xxx is the start point in seconds, and yyy is the endpoint in seconds.

      I am replying to this from phone without checking, so I hope I have got this right.

  6. thank you, but unfortunately there was no text in the video that said “rel=0″ also when you try to embed it into google docs you either have the option of searching for a youtube video or typing in a link, when you try to type in the embedded code it doesn’t work

  7. sorry it’s me again but I was wondering if there’s any other way I could save and edit the videos onto a google presentation or even another video making website that doesn’t require flash shockware because I’ve tried quitteeee a few other websites and they are all making my computer crash and freeze.

    • Hi. I have just had a look, and its appears that google have changed the options within a presentation, so we can now only embed a YouTube video – and we cannot edit it in anyway (e.g. Crop it). I guess that google (who owns YouTube) doesn’t want people to skip the adverts at beginning of videos – which is a real shame.

  8. For those of us using Powerpoint 10, how do I find the developer tab? I followed your directions from the screen cast and it does not apply to this version or Powerpoint…

  9. Great clip, easy to follow and understand.However I am having problems saving the power point presentation with the embedded tubechop clip. When I return to open and view presentation it is gone.

  10. Any way to do this with a Mac powerpoint 2008?

    • This technique doesn’t work – the best I can do is take a screenshot of the video on tubechop – paste this into PowerPoint, then attach a hyperlink from image to tubechop address for your video. Not as smooth but best I can do.

      • I am new to this so is there any way to walk through it? Thanks. If not I will figure it out.

      • Next time I have computer on I’ll do a screencast

      • Now that I have looked into this further, I realise that that this isn’t as easy to do as I first thought. Once you have copped a video in TubeChop you will get a unique URL for that chopped video which can be easily added into PowerPoint (for the mac) as a hyperlink – either as text or adding the hyperlink to an image – however when you click on the link this will then go to the TubeChop website – and play your video, but you won’t get the video full screen, and you cannot make it full screen so you will have the distracting adverts that appear on TubeChop around the edge (and they are the distracting ones, advertising phoney winning of iphones etc).

        It is possible to specify a start time of a YouTube video by simply changing the url of a YouTube video by adding &t=XmYs (replace X with the number of minutes and Y with the number of seconds) – e.g. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDeRcfhsR2U&t=1m10s starts one of my videos at 1 minute and 10 seconds, but this again won’t display full screen – you would have to manually do this once you have visited the video on the YouTube website, which isn’t too bad an option. If you want this to stop before the end, you would need to manually stop it at the right point though.

        So in summary – if you can get the embed option to work – this is really smooth, but this isn’t possible with PowerPoint for the mac or Open Office (I think) – in which case we have to find alternative options I am afraid.

  11. Just converted to a Mac, and am deep in my learning curve. Where is/How do I find the Director tab? Thx, and love the blog!

  12. THANK YOU!! This video was incredibly helpful!

  13. Thank you! This is so useful – just helped me create a more impactful presentation for my class in half the time!

  14. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure
    why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

    • Hi – Thanks for the heads up, I really appreciate it. Is it this post that has issues with images (as it is working fine for me) or is it another post within my blog? There aren’t actually any images in this post – just an embeded YouTube video, so if something is getting blocked it is possibly due to your system either blocking YouTube or blocking the adverts that appear on the site.

  15. Hi. Thanks for the helpful video. I am having a problem. I have followed your directions and pasted the embedded code for my video to a Word document. When I copy over the part that you said to my PowerPoint, it says “PowerPoint cannot insert a video from this embedded code.” I am using PowerPoint 13. Thanks!

    • I don’t have access to PowerPoint 13 so I cannot check. Are you using the ‘insert shockwave flash object’ option from the developer tab – or are you using the insert video option? If the latter then this doesn’t work with tubechop code.

  16. Hi — great, helpful post. Here’s my question: I am trying to chop a youtube video that I purchased — an episode of a tv show — and it shows a gray screen when I try to view the chopped section. Is there a way around this?

    • I didn’t even know it was possible to purchase YouTube videos. I am guessing that the video is private rather than public. This technique won’t work with private videos.

  17. I’m in powerpoint 10 and have created several tubechop videos per your instructions (btw – excellent). They worked for a couple days and now are not working. I’m not doing anything different so I’m at a loss as to what to try. Any suggestions?

    • There seems to be varying levels of success here with this sometimes working and sometimes not working, and I am afraid I don’t know the reason why.

  18. Your video was very helpful-I was able to embed several tubechop videos into my PowerPoint 2010 presentation & they play fine on my laptop. I saved the presentation on a thumb drive then tried playing it on another computer using 2010 PowerPoint VIEWER but the tubechop videos won’t play. I went back to my laptop, doublechecked my thumb drive and everything still plays fine on my laptop. What’s different about the 2010 PowerPoint Viewer? I’m hoping you will check this message tonight since I’m giving the presentation tomorrow – ha!
    Thanks, Lya

  19. And the internet was up & running in all cases.

  20. Is it possible to do more than 1 chopped video like this in the powerpoint?

  21. How do you set it up so it plays automatically? I’m having a presentation run on a screen during a conference and would like to insert a chopped youtube video and want it to run automatically as it hits that slide and move to the next slide after the video is playing. I’ve inserted the video, but you have to press the play button to get it to play.

    • I don’t think you can make it play automatically – you have to press play button and will have to click to advance slide at end I think.

      • There’s absolutely no way to have it play automatically? What about the code where autoplay=1 or something like that? I’ve been trying different things… it’s gotten this far to insert a youtube, I’m shocked there’s no way for it to play automatically :(

      • I am not aware of anyway to do this – I spent ages a few years ago trying to no avail.

  22. […] How to ‘Chop’ a YouTube video and embed it into PowerPoint – April 2011 […]

  23. Hey man this is super!!!
    But I have one question…well I did this, but I don’t know how to put it to go without my clicking if you understand…
    I must click on that and then it will play…
    I want to play that without clicking

  24. Thanks for posting this. really wonderful blog.. i like it.. good work .. keep it up..

  25. Great video, I am trying to do the same, but i am using Powerpoint for Mac 2011. any helpful ideas on how to do the same? I have chopped my videos, but cannot embed.

    • Hi. I am sorry but this technique doesn’t work on PowerPoint for the mac. The best I can suggest is to add an image (which could be from the video), then hyperlink from this to the unique web address for your tubechop video. Clicking on image will take you to the web, all you then have to do is make video play full screen.

  26. […] How to ‘chop’ a youtube video and embed it into […]

  27. You. Are. My. Hero.

  28. Very Very Helpful!! Thanks so much!

  29. Hi! I appreciate your video so much. Because I am trying to insert a video clip into a Prezi, the last couple of steps are not working. I got as far as copying the chopped video clip from Notepad…that all worked fine. Then the rest sort of fell apart because Prezi doesn’t have a similar structure like Microsoft’s Power Point program. If you have any tips, that would be lovely.

  30. Oh, dear, I’m one of the ones it’s not working for. (Not a mac). I insert the code next to ‘movie’ on the properties and then when I play the slide… nothing, just blank.

  31. You are the next BIG name!
    How can I view a Tube Chop video in full screen mode?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,256 other followers

