The advancement of technology

Recycling of VHS tapes

Originally uploaded by Dave Foord

My local tip recycles all sorts of things, and when I noticed a sign saying that they recycled video cassettes, I remembered that I had put a broken tape in the bin that day, so I retrieved the tape, and on my next visit sent it to be recycled. Now I was expecting a small container maybe a large wheelie bin, or at best an industrial bin, what I wasn’t expecting was a huge container like this, which as the photo shows has a fair quantity of said tapes within it.

I thought that this image shows how rapidly technology changes, and how a technology has come, conquered, and then left in a relatively short space of time.

Leave a Reply

