Content creation tools eXe, Xerte and Wimba Create

Over the last few weeks I have been trying to evaluate 3 different content creation tools, eXe, Xerte, and Wimba Create (which used to known as CourseGenie). All of these tools are designed to allow someone with average IT skills to create multi-media learning content that is exported as a website (html) – without the person creating the content having to learn any web design skills. All 3 have advantages and disadvantages and trying to decide if one is better than another is impossible – they are all good in different ways.

Whilst I have been working with the tools, I have recorded a gabcast (a short podcast that is created completely through my mobile phone at no cost to myself) for each tool, and then a summary cast, to try and identify some of the features ans issues, and to help someone to come to an informed decision when choosing such a tool.

Gabcast! Crossing the Foord #7 – The content creation tool eXe

Gabcast! Crossing the Foord #8 – The content creation tool Wimba Create (formerly CourseGenie)

Gabcast! Crossing the Foord #9 – The content creation tool Xerte

Gabcast! Crossing the Foord #10 – Comparing and choosing a content creation tool

2 Responses

  1. Hi Dave

    Do you have these podcast’s anywhere else now that gabcast has been taken down?



    • Hi Tom. I knew that Gabcast had started charging, but I didn’t realise that the whole site had gone down, and alas no I don’t have the podcasts anywhere else.

      What I will do over lunch is re-record a podcast on this topic and post the new one back to this blogpost as soon as I can.

      Thanks for bringing this to my attention.


Leave a Reply

