What has happened to pride in the workplace?

In the last 3 weeks I have spent numerous days being trained for different projects in different hotels in London (all hotels being part of large well known chains) and one thing that has struck me over the last few weeks is bar 1, the quality of the food has been appallingly bad.

Someone in each of these hotels is responsible for putting this food out on the serving counter – so the question I ask myself is what pride have they got in what they do. I have had no catering of chef training, and consider myself to be a reasonable cook, but nothing special, yet I could have prepared and served better food than what we received – why? Because I take pride in my work, and it doesn’t matter what I do in my work I will always be proud of my outputs.

Sometimes people find my pride annoying as this in turn leads into an attention for detail and a pursuit of very high standards, but that is what drives me and motivates me. So why don’t other people have this characteristic? Has it been driven out of them by the education system? Has the desire to increase bottom line profits pushed pride and quality out of the working culture? Or is it purely something that is genetic (my dad and both sisters have exactly the same traits even though we work(ed) in completely different areas).

I don’t know the answers to the previous 3 questions, I just wish that more people shared my passion, and that changes in the education system over the coming years will help bring pride back into peoples working lives.

Leave a Reply

