Using Excel to Play Golf on the Moon

I am currently working on my ITQ in accessible practice and whilst planning a session for the Excel unit of this, it reminded me of a resource that I created many, many years ago and look back and realise that it is still a really good resource.

Screen Shot of the golf gravity resource

Golf Gravity

The resource came about because I was teaching biomechanics at level 3 and 4, and one of the criteria was for the learner to understand the impact that gravity had on the flight of an object (e.g. a ball). The problem with this is that I don’t have the ability to turn gravity off, and as the college wouldn’t pay for me to build a rocket and go to the moon, I created a simulation – which you can see below.

In essence you can alter the velocity (speed) that the ball is hit, the angle and the planet (or moon to be technically correct) that you are playing on (which thus alters the gravity). The beauty of this resource was that I could use this with different levels of learner, just by using different questions sheets.

This was created in Excel, using some simple (well simple for someone like me that likes biomechanics) and plotting a graph, and shows how Excel can be used to create effective teaching and learning resources.

Golf Gravity resource

Creative Commons License
Golf Gravity by Dave Foord is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.
Based on a work at

2 Responses

  1. This is just great. I would love to see more teachers creating stuff like this. (I was earthbound, by the way, but this may be a compatibility issue – does it work ok in Office 2007?)

    • Not sure why you were earthbound Paul, I have tested it in 2003 and 2007 and works fine for me!

      Maybe its a Welsh HE funding restriction problem?

Leave a Reply

