ILT breakfast club

Tasty Pastries

Originally uploaded by lu_lu

One of my most successful ventures in the area of ILT (e-learning) was the idea of an ILT breakfast club. The college I was working at (like many others) had limited parking so many staff were choosing to arrive early each day to get a parking space, so I used this feature to my advantage.

The model was quite simple. 1 morning a week I ran an ILT training session between 8.00am and 8.55am. I provided coffee and croissants which people consumed whilst I did a quick demo, we then got onto the computers to practice the skills. The sessions were punchy and to the point, and all teaching and learning focussed. I would repeat each session 5 times (over 5 weeks) each time on a different day of the week so as to not disadvantage part timers, and it then fitted nicely to run a set of sessions each half term.

The sessions were very popular, people liked the punchyness of them, some said it was a good start to the day a bit like a pre-work gym session but for the brain not body and some just came for the coffee, croissants and company. I covered many topics over the 2 years I ran the sessions, I trained lots of people (and got to meet people I had never heard off) and it made a huge difference to the skill set of the college. the food and drink provided was a key part of the process (and relatively cheap) and the pace of the sessions also important. This is a model that I think other organisations could replicate (if you have a trainer who can do early starts), for relatively little cost.

Leave a Reply

