Using the iPadio WordPress Plugin

I have been using and demonstrating ipadio over the last year or so, as a potentially really useful tool, as it allows someone to dial a standard UK phone number from a phone, and record an audio file (or ‘phlog’ – short for phone log). This can then be later downloaded from the iPadio website, for further editing, or from the website you are given the embed code, which allows this to be embedded into a Virtual Learning Environment or similar, however wordpress (which I use to power this blog) wouldn’t allow this embed code to work, so I am quite pleased that ipadio have created a plugin to do this. An example of the output is below

Visit to hear my latest ipadio phonecast

Or listen here:

The way that it works, is you go onto your ipadio area,where you view your phlogs there is a tab called ‘social media’ – you can then enter the details of your blog. Once you have recorded your message, it will automatically create a new entry with the audio embedded.

Now the only problem with this, is you could end up with a blog with lots of short posts just containing aduio casts, which would quickly become hard to locate information on, and wouldn’t look very attractive, and if you delete your recording on ipadio, you will then have a broken link on your blog.

So what I have done is I have set up a separate blog (that only I can view) which I send my phlogs to. Then if I want to use one on my main blog (this blog) all I need to do is go to the relevant post on the other blog, go to edit, copy the contents of the post, and then paste it into a new post on my main blog.

Although this might sound a little clumsy, if you use wordpress then you can manage multiple blogs from the same account, so once set up is quite easy to manage.

As a learning tool, I think this is brilliant for reflective practice, NVQ assessment,  etc.

Leave a Reply

