Very,very simple sports movement analysis

Yesterday I was presenting at an event organised for people that will be running the level Diploma in Sport and Active Leisure, and I had been asked to provide some ideas as to how to teach some of the units – including the science based ones. I used to teach biomechanics so for me the science based ones are very easy, but for many they are not.

Having presented a few ideas to the group, I then decided to try and ‘wow’ them with a live demonstration. I wanted to show the group how easy it is to do basic movement analysis, which is normally achieved by using very expensive technology (which is very good) but takes a bit of time to learn, and is often so expensive that you have 1 or 2 computers in the class with it on, making it hard for the learners to practice.

From a teaching and learning perspective, I want something that all the learners can do, very quickly without having to learn lots of skills up front, and this was the basis of this demonstration. I gave my compact camera to one of the group, and asked them to film me carrying out a movement. This they did, I then plugged the camera into my laptop and copied the video file accross.

I then showed in the space of about 5 minutes how I could take still images from that video file by using quicktime which allows me to move the film forwards or backwards 1 frame at a time by using my cursor keys, and then using copy and paste to take these images into a PowerPoint presentation. I then drew an arrow on the position of my arm on each image, before copying each arrow onto a single slide. The end result being a line diagram showing how my arm had moved during the motion.

A screencast showing the technique is here

Normally when I do demonstrations at events, it is the complicated uses of technologies that has the wow factor, but in this case it was the utter simplicity of it that had the wow factor. 1 attendee in particular loved this idea as he had struggled to use the more complicated systems for movement analysis, and the idea of just copying and pasting – was well within his comfort zone.

This technique was something that I used about 10 years ago in my teaching because I didn’t have access to the more sophisticated software, so it is interesting for me to revisit this now, but shows how it is possible to use the technologies that we have to create results.

5 Responses

  1. Hi

    Great idea – I also have to teach biomechanics occasionally.

    Are there any other video players that offer the key feature – cursor keys to advance one frame at a time – I’d be particularly interested in something that runs off a stick



    • Hi Andy – glad you like the idea. There may be other video players out there, but once I had discovered Quicktime, which is free and does what I want it to, I then stopped looking, so I don’t know if there are any others out there.

      I have had a quick look to see if I can find a player that will run from a USB stick, and no luck yet. If you do ever come across one, then please let me know.


  2. mplayer and vlc both come in portable app versions (I think they are both in the access apps collection.

    However, they don’t have the frame by frame video control (unless someone else can show me how). The best you can do is play/pause with the spacebar.

  3. Kinovea and quintec are good to use

Leave a Reply

