Optivote change their price plan for Moodle Integration (because they listened to me)

A few weeks back, I blogged about Optivote’s Moodle Integration and how this could be a very useful feature for people that have Optivote of CPS voting pads already. At the time they had worked out a price plan which was a fixed price regardless of the organisation’s size – which was OK for the big providers, but less good for the smaller ones – and in conversation with the CEO at Optivote I pointed out that this may not be the best way forward.

Well – I am pleased to find out that they have changed their pricing plan in line with my suggestion, so the plan is based on the number of people that will be using it (so doesn’t disadvantage the smaller providers as much). They have also produced a ‘bundle’ plan where you get a 3 year licence for the price of 2. This (again my suggestion) doesn’t just save money, but if there are any future capital bids out there (OK possibly unlikely at the moment, but may happen) then this cost would be considered as capital rather than revenue – so could be bid for in that light.

Optivotes full price plan can be found at


So I hope that my conversation with the CEO at Optivote has helped the education community (a little bit) especially the smaller providers for whom this now becomes a bit more viable.

I will point out here that I have no financial interest in Optivote – so I am not trying to ‘sell’ their system here, but I am aware that there are lots of providers out there with underused sets of voting pads that have been purchased, for whom this integration could improve their use of the voting pads, and improve the use of Moodle.

Leave a Reply

