Using Xpert to find images and insert them into a PowerPoint

I use images a lot in my work – most of my PowerPoint presentations, are very image based, and the place that I use most to locate these images is a site called Xpert. This site has been created by the University of Nottingham, to compliment the Xerte tool that they have developed for creating content, but I use it mainly for finding images for my PowerPoint and Word based resources. The thing that I really like is the way that under each image that I locate on Xpert, it adds a black bar containing the licence information and the reference, showing that I have the right to use this image and it references it correctly, and the black bar will always follow the image around.

I have posted about this service before at but I thought it was time to update the video showing how to do this.

4 Responses

  1. […] was running some training at a primary school, where I introduced them to the idea of the Xpert attribution tool, and how this attaches the reference to the image, and if we get primary school children used to […]

  2. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon.


    • Thanks for the heads up. I have tested it at my end and seems to be ok for me in firefox, so I can only assume it is a setting in your browser – I don’t know what though.

  3. […] appropriate Creative Commons images to use in the resources, even using my usual locations such as Xpert, Wikimedia, and CC […]

Leave a Reply

