My most viewed posts in 2012

As we move into a new year, I take the chance to reflect on my previous year, and find it interesting to receive the annual report from wordpress regarding the activity on my blog. What is most interesting is which posts attract the most attention – with my top 5 posts last year being:

  1. Quickly creating a Google Map from a Spreadsheet of data (2009)
  2. How to ‘Chop’ a YouTube video and embed it into PowerPoint (2011)
  3. How to re-enable a microphone in Windows 7 (2012)
  4. Choosing different pins when creating Google Maps (2010)
  5. How to automatically pull data between different Google Spreadsheets (2011)

What is really interesting is how only 1 of the top five posts were actually written in 2012, and my top read post (again) is one dating back to 2009.

All of the above posts are ‘instruction’ based posts showing or explaining how to do something, rather than many of my posts which are about my opinions or observations on certain topics such as the flipped classroom, or terminology that is used. I don’t blog very often, as my current work (and family life) makes this difficult – but hope that my posts are high quality and useful to make up for the relatively low frequency of posting. I hope this year coming to be able to blog more often, but want to maintain the quality element of my posts.

2 Responses

  1. Guess the old ones have had more time to ‘circulate’ in search engines?

    • You are probably right, but also I think that the posts that are popular are because they are of interest to a wider community than most of my posts.

Leave a Reply

