Using Creative Commons Search to find images on Flickr and embed into a VLE

I have blogged many times in the past (see bottom of post for links) about different ways to locate and use Creative Commons images (e.g. ones that can be used without breaking copyright). My favourite 2 sources of images are currently Xpert and Wikimedia but if I don’t find what I want there, then here is another useful technique.

The website is another very useful tool that will allow you to search different sources of media (including images, video, audio) with one of the search options being for the image sharing website Flickr.

In the past I have used a site called CompFight to achieve this, but with compfight the default settings are such that you have to tick to choose that you want creative commons, and if you want the commercial option, then you have to tick that as well, so there is a real possibility that someone could forget to tick these options, and end up with an image that isn’t Creative Commons. With the creative commons search tool, it ticks these 2 options as default, so when I am showing this technique to staff, I am now using this site for that reason.

Here is a video showing how we can use the tool to locate an image and then embed it into a VLE such as Moodle or Blackboard, or any other webspace that you can edit.

I regularly run training for organisations, in topics like this, including different ways of using the images once they have been located. For details of training please contact Dave Foord via

Links to other posts in this blog on this topic.

4 Responses

  1. Have you tried Xpert’s image attribution service?
    This includes flickr and can superimpose the licence details in the foot of the image

    • Hi Terry – yes I use Xpert lots, if you look at the bottom of the post you will see links to previous posts where I have promoted Xpert.

      I generally use xpert as my first port of call, but if I don’t find what I want I then switch to this. Although they both search Flickr, xpert usually returns less results.

    • …I have just edited the post slightly to mention Xpert and Wikipedia at the top to promote those services as well.

  2. […] I have recently been working on a project for a University developing some midwifery resources related to breast feeding, which was very interesting but we did find problems locating appropriate Creative Commons images to use in the resources, even using my usual locations such as Xpert, Wikimedia, and CC Search. […]

Leave a Reply

