2013 in review

One of the features of WordPress that I like, is at the end of every year it sends me a summary of what my blog has been doing over the past 12 months, and yet again I have found that my most viewed and commented posts on my blog are from previous years (in fact there are none from this year, and all of the top five most visited posts, are what I would call ‘How do I….’ type posts, rather than the thought provoking posts that my blog also contains.

My top 5 most visited posts were:

  1. How to automatically pull data between different Google Spreadsheets – November 2011
  2. Quickly creating a Google Map from a Spreadsheet of data – September 2009
  3. How to re-enable a microphone in Windows 7 – January 2012
  4. How to ‘Chop’ a YouTube video and embed it into PowerPoint – April 2011
  5. Using Countdown Timers in PowerPoint – September 2010

My aim at the start of last year was to try to blog about once a week – I again failed in that quest, managing just 24 posts (including this one) so roughly 1 post every other week. I have always wanted to ensure that my blog is about quality not quantity, and part of my problem is that some of the clients that I work for do not want me to publicise or advertise what I am doing (fear of me giving away their advantage – personally I don’t think me blogging about what I am doing would do this, but I have to respect the wishes of the people that pay me).

One thing that does please me is the number of people that subscribe to my blog – this is currently over 1000. I know some of these may be bots not people, but I believe that over half are real people – and these get an email from me every time that I post.

will continue to blog next year, I would like to post a few more items but I say that every year….

Click here to see the complete report.

4 Responses

  1. I am one of the real people and I enjoy the blog so well done and keep it coming!

    Alistair McNaught

  2. Like Alistair I really enjoy the blog too! One of the most distinctive posts this year compared i pads with other tablets. I found it really interesting and useful as we all working out how to make the transition to more widespread use of tablet-based activities in the classroom. Thanks for sharing your insights and experience with us all!
    Bob Read

    • I am glad you both like my posts, and you find them useful, it is really encouraging for me when I get feedback like this.

      I hope to be writing more tablet related posts over the coming months and years, and hope that my neutrality (I don’t have a strong love or hate relationship with any of the systems) will make my posts valuable to the wider community.

  3. Great stuff, chopping youtube video for powerpoint is so handy, especially when you want to make a point but someone on youtube makes it much better, happy new year

Leave a Reply

