Embedding Google Maps into learning resources

I love maps and always have done. Prior to having kids my main hobby was mountaineering, and I used to spend over 100 days per year involved in this, so maps to me are an everyday part of my life, and I love Google maps – being able to see a map of an area, and then view the satelite image of it, I find very useful and interesting, and something that a lot of people don’t realise is that for any map that you produce, you can get some embed code – so that you can embed it into a learning platform (Moodle, Blackboard, etc) or into a wiki, blog or other editable bit of webspace. Now for certain topics this could be really good – the example below shows the location of car sales places in my home town of Loughborough – which could be used in a geography lesson – all I had to do was

  1. zoom the map into Loughborough
  2. then type ‘car sales’ into the search box which added the pins to the map
  3. Top right of the map is a link icon – click on this
  4. This gives me the embed code, which I can add to my learning resource

This is very quick to do – you can then click on the ‘view larger map’ option to view it in its own window, and zoom, move etc

Very easy to do, and for relevant subjects very useful.

Leave a comment